Little Kentucky Farm Fall Photoshoots

LKF Howie-2_web

Currently for sale: Playitagain Howie, a four-year-old Thoroughbred after my own heart.

I feel very fortunate to have been the unofficial official photographer of Little Kentucky Farm for several years. Owner Zeb Fry and I always have a good time working together with the horses to capture special moments on camera. Our goal is always to make sure the horse’s personality comes across in the pictures.

_DSC8974

Stellaaaaaaaaa!

Most of Zeb’s sale horses are quality Thoroughbred ex-racehorses, but one of our earliest shoots together was for Stella Luna, a stunning Trakehner mare we would have much rather kept for ourselves than sold. This mare was unbelievable on camera and remains one of my favorite photoshoots ever.

LKF Louie-0812-web

Leslie and Louie!

Sometimes I’m lucky enough to get to ride one of Zeb’s horses. This is me on Louie, who’s registered name is Eor the Terrific. How amazing is that? He does have pretty incredible ears. Click the link on his name to see his pedigree, which is full of distance influence.

LKF Louie-0825-web

Currently for sale: Louie has a lovely, easy canter.

I’ve always loved bringing along young horses. There is so much gratification when they learn, making it almost impossible to have a dull ride. I’m so impressed with Louie. He’s an old soul, and at three years old he behaves like a veteran. I’d sure like to ride him again myself, but I’d feel comfortable putting my mom on his back and sending them out into the hunt field. This horse will be able to take his rider wherever he or she wants to go.

LKF Louie-0828-web

Kramer, Leslie, and Louie

Check out the gallery below for a couple of my favorite photos from Howie and Louie’s shoots last weekend as well as LKF sale horse Cruz Control’s photoshoot earlier this year, and make sure to visit www.littlekentuckyfarm.com/horses-for-sale for more information on these three horses. If you want photos of your own sale horses, contact me at leslie.a.threlkeld@gmail.com!

About Leslie Threlkeld

Leslie Threlkeld is a writer and photographer specializing in equestrian topics. View all posts by Leslie Threlkeld

Leave a Reply

